"Two studies of amphibians in Xanadu National Park confirm a significant decline in the numbers of amphibians. In 1975 there were seven species of amphibians in the park, and there were abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. One proposed explanation is that the decline was caused by the introduction of trout into the park's waters, which began in 1975. (Trout are known to eat amphibian eggs.)"

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author offers one explanation about the decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, according to which trouts are responsible for this event. In what follows, I shall offer a number of rival explanations.

The explanation mentioned by the author seems convincing at first glance. Indeed, trouts were first introduced in the park in 1975, when the population of amphibians was great. It is easy to suppose that the decline of those amphibians is due to trout: otherwise, it would have happened before 1975. However, this hypothesis would have been more compelling if other information had been provided. First, the two studies on which the explanation of the author is based do not explain what kinds of trouts were introduced. Of course, trouts are generally known as predators of amphibians. However, what if the trouts that were introduced had not been predators of amphibians? It is possible that animal belonging to the same species show different behaviours. Another question that needs to be answered concerns the number of trouts that were introduced. If that number had been low, it would have been difficult for the trouts to eat a great number of eggs of amphibians. Of couse, some people may object by arguing that since there was a suitable environment for trouts – there was no scarcity of food – the number of trouts increased. However, there is also the possibility that the rate of the increase of trouts was not so high. After all, 35 years is a short time for a species to completely replace another one.

It is worth considering other rival explanations. First, the decline of amphibians can be caused by the pollution of the water. Perhaps, the amphibians in the park could not tolerate certain substances that were damping in the water where they swam. Of course, some people may object that if this had been the case, other species would have been declined. However, we do not know if this was the case: the two studies only concern the population of amphibians. Second, it is possible that the substances in the water damaged only amphibians. Incidentally, this explanation is able to explain why the population of amphibians dramatically reduced in thirty years.

Another possible explanation is the presence of other predators. We can suppose that after introducing trouts the National Park also introduced a different predator of amphibians, which was more effective to capture eggs than trouts.

What about if the policy of National Park changed after 1975: perhaps they decided to reduce the temperature of water since they were at risk of bankruptcy. By reducing the temperature of the water, it was more difficult for baby amphibians to grow up.

To sum up, the author mentions an explanation which is seemingly convincing. However, it has different problems and other putative explanations – from those about the presence of other predators to those about a change of the temperature of water and pollution – seems to be suitable. In order to enhance the explanation mentioned, the author should provide other pieces of information and refute the other theories.