The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to the author, the principal advantage we can take from history is to free us from the false belief that people living now are different from people living in the past.

Of course, it would be pleasant if history permitted us to learn that there are more analogies than differences between the current world and past world. First, in this way we could effectively predict events. If we knew that people under Fascism were very similar to people living now, we are more likely to avoid a return of a fascist system. Second, if history has the function of make us near to the past, there would not be certain viewpoint according to which we are superior than people who lived in the past. For example, if, after all, Middle Age’s people were extremely similar to us, we could consider them as inferior – as happens (the label “Middle Age’s” itself indicates the inferiority of the period to which it refers).

However, we cannot take such advantages from history. The assumption made by the author is that we are similar to people who lived in the past – only in this way, studying history reveals the analogies between the contemporary world and the past. This, however, is extremely questionable. Really, is a Middle Age’s person similar to us? Many of us may answer negatively. There are a plethora of differences that we can point out. For example, Middle Age’s people were extremely religious while the number of religious people is decreasing. Middle Age’s people lived under monarchy, while most of us are citizens of democratic states. Middle Age’s people were mostly illiterate while a great number of people, at least in the Western World, go to school until 16/18 years old.

The real benefit we can take from history is learning the origin of the current world. Moreover, if we are aware of the history we have and where we come from a certain world, we surely have a more complex view of the world we live in. Why is there an agreement between the government and Church in Italy? Why does Italy host a phenomenon such as mafia? These are questions that could be answered only by looking back at Italy’s past.

In conclusion, the author’s idea is not convincing, although it hides good purposes. We are not similar to people who lived before us and this fact prevents history from freeing us from the belief that our world is different from the past. The primary advantage of studying history is learning the origin of our world.