The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in

which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and

explain how these examples shape your position.

According to the statement above, the most effective way to teach is by praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones. In what follows I will reject this thesis: while it may be true that this method can successfully be applied to animals and babies, it can imply negative consequences when it comes to older people.

At first glance, the author’s position seems to be confirmed by our experience of training dogs. I was able to teach my dog to sit by offering it a biscuit. At the same time, I also ignored its barks and now he barks very rarely. Imagine if I had done the opposite. For example, suppose if I had not given my dog a biscuit: it could not have been able to discriminate what actions it should perform and, therefore, it should never have learned to sit at my signal. Moreover, if I had not ignored it when it barked, but perhaps I had shouted it, my dog would not have stopped barking: it perhaps would have been stressed or in a situation that required fight. Similar consideration also applies to babies: if we want to teach them to eat even if they do not want to, the best way is to try to play with them: by feeling happy, they will be less reluctant to eat. If they also carry out a wrong action, it is better to say nothing.

However, this methodology of teaching does not seem to be effective in school. If we praised students with a high grade because they studied, they would not learn the value of studying. They would just think that studying permits them to receive high grades: they would not think that study make our mind freer. In the same way, if we ignored their negative actions, they would feel justified to perform them: they may think that they are not morally wrong – otherwise, they would have been punished. The same results can be obtained in society. For example, if criminals did not go to prison, they could not understand the immorality of their actions.

Some people may ask why there is such a divergent treatment between animal/babies and older people. One of the main reasons can be ascribed to the presence of a complex mind: if older people did not have a complex mind, there would not be the necessity to learn the value of studying; also, they could not say to themselves that what they have done is morally acceptable because, otherwise, they would have received a punishment.

In conclusion, the author’s position seems to be true for animals and babies. However, praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones is not the best way to teach older people. The main responsible for this fact is the presence of a complex mind.