The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The argument concludes that the lifestyle of Forsythe’s people have been healthier. Although the author offers a number of reasons supporting this conclusion, other evidence is required to confirm this hypothesis.

The author mentions the fact that, according to a recent study, people in Forsythe have claimedd to follow the government nutritional recommendation more closely. In order to bolster his argument, the author has to offer some figures about the participants of this study. If there are few participants, it cannot be inferred that people in Forsythe are now healthier than they used to be. Second, the author has to rely on a more reliable study, whose methodology does not depend on asking questions to people. Indeed, this involves dealing with the possibility that participants lie. If Forsythe’s people have lied in the survey considered by the author, the reasoning is surely weakened. Third, the author should also report which the nutritional principles are recommended by the state. Suppose they are not good recommendations: perhaps, these recommendations have been formulated by unqualified doctors. If this is the case, the author’s thesis is not convincing: people follow unhealthy nutritional recommendations.

There is another issue that needs to be explored. According to the author, there has been a steep increase in sales of food products contaning kiran, an ingredient capable of reducing cholesterol. The author’s argument would be strengthened if other information was provided. For example, the author should have demonstrated that the use of kiran does not have negative consequences for the health. What if it provokes cancer? The author should also have been excluded that the steep increase in sales of kiran products does not depend on external factors such as the arrival of a great number of tourists in Forsythe. What if the tourists arrived in Forsythe buy kiran products? We would not say that people living in Forsythe are healthier than they used to be. Moreover, in order to bolster the reasoning the author should provide data about the use of kiran products in cuisine. If these products were used differently, perhaps they were given to animals, the author’s conclusion would not be convincing.

Finally, the author cites the fact that Forsythe’s people buy a lower amount of sulia. However, he had better demonstrate that sulia is dangerous. What if people no longer buy sulia products because of a change of their tastes. It is true that sulia is consumed only by a minority of the healthiest people in Forsythe. However, if it was so dangerous why would the people who eat it be healthy?

In conclusion, the author should provide more information to make his thesis convincing. First, he has to guarantee that the study he relies on is trustworthy and has a representative sample. Second, he should give more pieces of data concerning sales of kiran that demonstrate that people in Forsythe’s eat kiran products. Third, he could bolster his reasoning by excluding the case that the reduction in consumption of sulia products is due to a change of tastes or other external reasons.