Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the
societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility
of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.
Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own
position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting
your position, you should address both of the views presented.
While some people may believe that corporations have a responsibility to protect
society, others believe that the only purpose of a corporation is to make money. I agree
that making profits is important. In the grand scheme of things, though, all companies
have a responsibility to watch out for their customers. Their customers are how they
make their money. If they’re not watching out for their customers, they obviously will
see a drop in their profits.
Consider light bulbs. This is an invention that has all kinds of potential for serious
accidents. It is basically just a glass globe with electricity running through it! If a bulb
gets too hot, it could potentially start a fire. Similarly, if someone removed the glass from around the tungsten wire, you’d basically have an exposed electrical wire that
could hurt anyone who touched it. Makers of light bulbs know and understand all these
dangers. They want consumers to purchase their products, so the first and smartest
way to make that happen is to ensure that the products are safe and thus more
attractive to the customer base. If everyone who used light bulbs was afraid of getting
zapped profits would obviously go down and light bulbs would not be a very profitable
enterprise.
This same thinking applies to all major products. The automobile is one of the most
dangerous tools man uses. Tens of thousands of automobile drivers die every year in
accidents. Insuring that the vehicles contain designs and parts that promote customer
safety is a main focus of car manufacturers. Certain parts of of cars were built with
promoting driver’s well-being in mind. For instance, air bags, anti-lock braking
systems, online crash reporting. These features are considered standard now, and they
were all developed to increase the safety of consumers. These features were not cheap
to develop, but car manufacturers improved their profits anyway because they
developed products with public safety in mind, which is what customers expect. If this
symbiosis relationship wasn’t true, then we would still have cars without airbags or
even seatbelts. Worrying about the safety and actually improving it for customers is
not just a basic responsibility of corporations, but it drives their profits, too.
In conclusion, its pretty clear that a corporation’s desire to make more profits is
in line with a corporation’s responsibility to consumers. Increasing the focus on
consumers, worrying about taking care of them and the environment, can only lead
to bigger profits and success for corporations in the long run.