Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the
societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility
of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible
I think corporations have a responsibility to not only follow the law but also work with
the societies and enviroments they are in. Our societies and environments in this age
are affected by corporations’ operations. An example of this is BP’s accident in the Gulf
of Mexico — they might have been following the law and regulations, but once an
accident happens, our societies and environments are affected. Many fishermen and
businesses around the area have been affected by the accident. Now BP faces so many
liabilities and needs to pay money. As a result, they are loosing more than they made
in the past.
It is also important that corporations makes as much as money possible. If they do
well, there might be more employment opportunities for people and more taxes for the
city, states and federal which help our country’s economy better.