Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the

societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility

of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

your position, you should address both of the views presented.

recently, global companies donate to some nonprofit organizations helping pernicious people. some people view these behaviors as one of the advertisements to promote their product, while others evaluate these companies’ charities as a helpful movement for our society. Further, some argue that corporations have a responsibility to increase the well-being of societies and the environment. I partially agree with this opinion for two reasons. nevertheless, I also assert that companies’ staple objective is to make money.

First and foremost, since companies are also members of society, they have to contribute to their society. Of course, it is natural that many corporations always make a plan to increase their benefits. however, their most benefits also are from a society; all companies would not survive if members of society show a boycott of their product, service. For example, let’s suppose that one company have gradually raised their sales in 20-years. Due to this business success, the manager of the company became an affluent person in society. nevertheless, considering that his success was merely from his capabilities, he determined to move his companies abroad to decrease tax without the plan to return their benefit to society. if many people heard this news, they would reprove his behaviors because they regard the company as also a member to contribute to their society. they might think of its behaviors as betraying their reliability. it is not surprising that many global corporations, nowadays, donate their benefits to societies. this movement is generated by the idea that companies’ benefits are from society.

Second, some companies might implement another responsibility: the protection of the environment. A lot of companies in the world exploit a resource in nature. In the process, it is unavoidable to destruct the environment. therefore, some people perceive that these companies must show a contribution to protecting the environment. recently many companies answer this demand. For example, aramco, the national oil company in Saudi Arabia, recently make a plan to invest environment-friendly products like cars using electric or bio-fuel energy. With this movement, aramco tried to promote a positive image that they also have a broader vision to anticipating a change of energy spending, and gradually tried to protect their environment to pursue alternative energy. Consequently, a lot of people support the direction of aramco’s policy, while other companies also realize that protecting the environment did not merely mean a loss of sales. therefore, protecting the environment would be not only a desirable contribution to society but also a favorable option for the companies.

however, all companies exist to make a profit for their companies’ survival. therefore, if a society or government requires companies to play a bigger role in a society’s well-being or protecting the environment, they must feel a burden and escape to another country. For instance, tax is one of the forms for companies to contribute to society because a government increases their society’s well-being using tax. As is well known, if a government demand companies to pay a high tax, some companies move to a new salubrious place to pay lower money. therefore, a compulsory requirement might not desirable for a society.

In conclusion, it is desirable to make companies feel their responsibility to contribute to their society. it would be a favorable choice for both companies and society. however, requiring companies to participate in increase social well-being and protecting the environment, would be not a good option.