The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

In our daily life, we do positive as well as negative actions knowingly or unknowingly. One should be able to recognize their actions as good or bad. Similarly, the phrase 'The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones' cannot be accepted completely. To praise someone for their work, no doubt encourages and boosts their confidence, but not pointing their flaws can be dangerous too in the future. To teach a person effectively, the negative things or actions must be given equal importance as the positive ones.

There is a popular saying ' Failures are the stepping stones to success'. To become successful in one's life one has to take both appreciation for the good work and criticism as a new learning. Focussing only on positive ones can make a person overconfident and boastful. It makes one complacent and makes one feel that he does not need anyone's teaching or advice and starts running away especially from negative one's. Consider a person making same mistakes again and again because of ignoring them previously. They can hamper him big time on d-day.

For an instance, consider the example of a popular cricketer from India, Sachin Tendulkar. Since his childhood, his coach never only praised his good deeds but even pointed out his flaws and showed him his weaknesess. If at that time, he would'nt have listened to his coach, would he become the cricketer he is today? I agree that pointing out negative things can hinder one's growth, but in the long run it always teaches you to become better at what you do.

A teacher must always have the perfect way to convey the negative things so that a student can benefit from it and takes it as a stepping stone to acheive success.

Hence, I believe the way teaching by praising positives and ignoring negatives depends on the place and to whom we are teaching. Identifying the negatives and turning them into benefit of our own must be learned by everyone to become successful.