Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Any organization like government, industry, corporation needs a successful leader. Actually, many people have a different standard about what is a successful leader. How to choose between competitiveness and cooperation as the best trait of a successful leader? In particular, we should consider that organizations have a different trait. Hence, I think the most important virtue of a successful leader varies by types of organization.

Some people would argue that the most important factor of a successful leader is highly competitiveness like the ability to generate profit in business. It is a very reasonable argument considering economic factors are very important in this capitalist system. In particular, this virtue of leaders is important in business sectors. For example, if you were a manager of a McDonald branch, you should set a priority for generating a profit. Otherwise, employees of your branch might complain about your management skills and your branch management would be suffered a crisis. Therefore, most business sector would need to highly competitive leader who has an ability to make a profit.

However, there are more organizations need successful leaders than in business sectors like government, NGOs, even various clubs in school. Because these organization would not set a priority for making a profit, these members would not like a merely competitive leader. For example, although the CEO of a corporation has been shown an arrogant attitude toward employees, most employees prefer him if he has an outstanding management capacity. However, if this CEO were to be appointed as Prime Minister or government officer, many people would not support him fully because paying respect to members of a nation is an important trait for a civil servant. In this case, most members would like the cooperative leaders for their organization.

Furthermore, it is possible to commit a false dichotomy when we choose the virtues of successful leaders between competitiveness and cooperation. As I mentioned above, the virtues of good leaders are various depending on types of organization. For example, if you were a leader of ngos seeking to protect the environment, you would be a leader who has a strong conviction as an environmentalist. In some cases, those virtues are useless like competitiveness for generating a profit and cooperation for the administration of government.

In conclusion, various organizations would need to require successful leaders. However, the virtues of leaders are not restricted for between competitiveness and cooperation. Rather, The virtues of successful leaders are changeable depending on types of organizations.