Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

It is very crucial to shape our future generations of leaders in such a way that they are fitting for their positions when the time comes. It might be wise to instill many characteristics into these young minds early on in life, these characteristics include sense of cooperation and competition. In my opinion, I think that it is equally important to support both characteristics to have wise and well-oriented future leaders.

By instilling a sense of cooperation, we help young people to develop the sense of responsibility coupled with compassion towards others. In other words, having a cooperative personality will build a future leader who's not only aiming to improve their leadership skills, but also aiming to include their team along the way, to have a healthy supportive environment for the people he or she leads. This will significantly improve the productivity and general positivity of those who work under that leader. Additionally, having a sense of cooperation will improve the leader's communication skills, since you can't "cooperate" if you don't "communicate", and therefore it will be easier for the person to better communicate their ideas not only as a leader, but also as a human being. Some might claim that cooperation might distract the leader from the main goal - for the organization, country, etc. - by involving other parties, and I'd argue that cooperation and sharing ideas with others might actually make reaching that goal even faster. Because different minds don't think the same way, and some people might provide you with valuable ideas that you never thought of. Hence, shutting off external ideas might make it more difficult to reach that goal.

It must also be noted that cooperation does not negate competition, and indeed competition is as important. The sense of competition within an organization pushes people to do better in work and in life. If sense of competition isn't instilled in our youth, then it will be a difficult task to for that person to seek self-improvement, since -in their mind- they are good enough, and they don't need further betterment. Consequentially, making a leader who not only doesn't aim to better themselves, but also has no certain goals of milestones for his organization. Leading to an all-in-all failure. Opponents of the concept of competition will argue that competition can be a toxic trait that make some people take extreme measures to reach where they want, harming many people in the process. But it needs to be realized that competition coupled with cooperation can never lead to such a result, because cooperation instills selflessness in ones character.

In summary, the young generations are definitely more open-minded than the older ones, and it is not a hard task to instill characterstics of leadership in them, as long as they are taught the concept of ' all for one and one for all', to balance their sense of competition with cooperation.