Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Success in many endeavors relies on a variety of skills and circumstances. The ability to work with others, rather than against them is of primary importance. Such an approach creates a positive and healthy environment that increases the spread of ideas for solutions and cooperation. However, sometimes there is a benefit to tapping into the basic human survival instinct of competition to engage some of a leader’s best allies, which can be transformative to a sought-after outcome.

The story of Bill Gates illuminates the advantages of cooperation over competition. Bill grew up in a silo. He was an introvert who spent most of his time alone in his childhood bedroom, reading books of all kinds. Such voracious self-educating is a habit he has continued through his professional career. As with leaders in many arenas, he acquired vast amounts of knowledge which might give him an edge over others, and indeed he admits to being a highly competitive person. Yet, as a young kid, Bill was irascible. His parents, leaders in civic and philanthropic circles, knew this would not help him in life. At the age of 12, when his relationship with them reached a low, they made him enter counseling. The therapist explained to young Bill that his family wanted the best for him and were not trying to work against him but with him for his success. By the time he was 25, his family had become his key personal support as he launched Microsoft.

Knowledge and ability cannot replace relationships. And relationships are generally stronger when individuals are positively engaged and included, not pushed away in opposition. As the saying goes, “Catch more flies with honey than with vinegar.” Cooperation unites and competition divides, and in many pursuits, the more minds involved, the better. Gate’s later career also demonstrated this principle in operation, as he transitioned from running Microsoft to the Gates Foundation. It was intended for his wife to help him co-manage the organization. However, after decades of being sole CEO of his business enterprise, Bill admitted that sharing the power with his wife was not an easy transition. Colleagues say that Bill is one of the only leaders who never has an ill word about his wife, and their collaborative partnership is famous in the business community. The Foundation is now the largest non-profit organization in the world.

In turn, there are times when it is most effective to stir competitive spirit to accomplish what is necessary. The seat of the US presidency has often been filled with individuals of such a nature. Indeed, as politicians are uniting their campaign teams in a cause, it is for the purpose of outstripping their opponents in the election. Bill Gates also used his awareness of human nature for the success of his foundation. When he first espoused the cause of clean water, he approached eight universities for innovative proposals on sewage treatment systems. None responded. However, when he then told each university that it would be a public competition between the others, all joined the project enthusiastically. Now the Gates Foundation has developed and supports a new water filtration system that treats one-third of all waste-water in Dakar.