The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The electric power company planning department has made several fallacious leaps in logic when declaring that no construction or upgrades are needed for their plants. The department makes generalizations about the capacity and competency of homeowners, about the ways and amounts in which electricity is used, and the overlooks the limits of its equipment. Such oversights could leave the power company unprepared for the future, through unexpected demand or loss of demand.

Energy-efficient refrigerators and air-conditioners are cited as “almost twice as efficient” as those sold a decade ago. However, stating this condition does not consider what percent of home owners have purchased these efficacious appliances and had them properly installed.

The planning department assumes that they will see the benefits of increased technical efficiency. It’s possible that it make take many years for older devices to be phased out of use, and even when more effective devices are put in place, they must be operated correctly. For example, an A/C unit with a dirty filter must work twice as hard as a clean one to maintain the same temperature.

Another consideration to new energy-efficiency technology is the overall number of devices in each home. Human standards of domestic environmental precision and convenience have increased with modernization. A family of four may have a refrigerator in the kitchen, but also one in the garage, with a free-standing freezer as well. The garage may also have an outlet to charge an electric car. Perhaps all bedrooms are out-fitted with televisions. With all these additions, the electric company must calculate whether energy use may actually be going down or up with time.

The planning department also mentions that the effectiveness of insulation and passive solar has improved in home construction. This could have provident impact only if the power company is located in areas where large temperature swings occur. In a milder climate where the percent of power used for heating may be relatively small, or in areas with low levels of new construction are taking place, these evolutions in building technology are insignificant.

Most glaringly, the planning department assumes that the size and location of the consumer population will remain the same, and that their plants will not need upgrades due to the wear and tear on equipment over the past decades. As equipment ages, it generally becomes less efficient, so the power supplied by the plant is likely to use more energy to be produced. Three generating plants could perhaps be dropped to two with more current mechanical parts. And the population may have increase in the area, or moved further away, which perhaps demand opening of other plants.

The power company’s planning leaves much to be desired. They must examine the home-owner population with more sophistication, in terms of what technology is owned and how it is use. They must also look at the positioning to the client and condition of the plant’s own equipment before declaring that no changes are needed in the future.