The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company stated that currently occupied three electric generating plants are enough and always met the needs that is why the construction of new electric generating plants will not be necessary. However, before this argument has properly evaluated, three assumptions have to analyze.

First of all, the quoted surveys from which the author came to the conclusion that homeowners were increasingly eager to conserve energy. Maybe that mentioned surveys were from four years ago or even more. It is also possible that surveys were not held systematically. Maybe there was not enough data to come to a conclusion. If the above assumptions are true then the argument is unwarranted.

Secondly, the author cited in the argument that currently manufacturers are marketed modernized products which are electricity efficient than the older ones. Perhaps, the new products are high in price and they are not for less earning people. Even if the new technologies are for better heat insulation and passive solar heating, maybe they are not affordable for everyone in the nation. If the above assumptions have merit, then the main argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, the author also mentioned that because of the modern appliance are energy efficient, use of electricity are declining and occupied three electricity plants are enough in these twenty years, that is enough reason that in future there is no need for new plants. Maybe, next year the population of the area increased with the electricity demand. and that three plants are not enough to meet the needs. Also even if the three mentioned plants are good for the current needs of the area, but it is possible that one of them stopped performing or destroyed in the future, then the new one has to be built for good. It the above assumptions are true then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed for several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can evaluate the above three assumptions and analyze with the systematic procedure, then it can recommend that the area will not need new electricity generating plants.