The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company quot Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy At the same time manufacturers are now marketing many home

With the given evidence the argument seems cogent. However, there are several holes and unwarranted assumptions to undermine the argument. Therefore, the department must answer to the question to make the argument flawless. Although the department might be correct in his evidence. He is too quick to make the changes; his research seems to be incomplete to claim the conclusion. Thus, proper analysis must be done regarding the new appliance, total families, and interested families to adopt the change.

It is not necessary that every product that is available in the market can be affordable by all the people. The price of the available product is not specified as it is the main reason to be encountered. If the price of the new appliance is higher than the old similar product, then customers hesitates to go for the new one. If any of these points hold merit; then the conclusion of the argument strongly weakens.

The analysis period is too long and 10 years is too long to be compared. It vacillates the decision to analyse taking the evidence and facts of 10 years period. There has been huge changes in recent days compared to 10 years ago. Every year some new products are released in the market that is better than past years. Thus, if the comparison is to be done, then it should be done with the past years product. As there might not be 10 years old product in every house of the city. If this point is true, then the conclusion further deteriorates.

If such things happen, then there are several options to sell the electricity to the foreign market. In addition, the over produced electricity can be transferred to the places where there is shortage. It is not stated that the current electricity demand is fulfilling the needs of all the customers in the city. Thus, exhaustive research must be performed before claiming the conclusion. Many research should be performed to see indeed such changes to replace the old appliance with the new one changes the electricity consumption, and if not, what should be done to raise the electricity consumption. As the electronic industry is developing rapidly, there might be high demand of electricity in the industries and other factories which can compensate if loss happens.

The electric planning department fails to analyse other new appliances that might consume high electricity than these two products. Thus, the conclusion seems to be vacillating from its point. Overall, the conclusion might be true in some aspects. The department must provide certain proof to make the conclusion reasonable, logical, and, convincing.