The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian a company that manufactures men s clothing Five years ago at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric we discontinued production of

As per the vice president of Sartorian, he wants to relaunch the old alpaco coat because he found a new wool fabric supplier in the hope to increase a profit. With this evidence, the argument seems cogent. However, there are several holes and unwarranted assumptions regarding the argument. The Vice President must release answers to the question regarding the quality, price, transportation cost, and others misselanious regarding the fabric supplier to make the argument flawless.

Firstly, the president must research a survey in the market regarding the new trend in clothing. The old coat might not be feasible in the market to attract customer interest. Also, he must have a knowledge of inflation in the price. Without proper calculation, it is difficult to assume the profit. The Vice President has not included the sartorial design of the coat which might be vaccilating to invest.

Secondly, the president of Sartorian, has not included the cost of new fabric. Also, he has not disclosed the material and transportation cost of the fabric. Whether the new wool fabric is good or not. What if the cost of the material is higher than 5 years ago? The vice president has not considered this hypothesis and released a conclusion. What if the material quality and transportation quality are not feasible in the market. There might be several other options to earn profit rather than going back to the old alpaco coat. If this hypothesis is true, then the argument continues to have further deteriorated.

Lastly, the President and the research team must look back and collect proper evidence regarding the competitor and the reason behind its shutdown. Why the competitor has shut down this coat? He might be facing some difficulties in preparing or selling these coat. He might not be generating higher profit. If any of this evidence holds merit, the conclusion of the argument is strongly weakened. Also, the customers who used to love wearing this alpaco coat might have shifted to other brands.

The argument contains several flaws regarding quality, price, and other factors. Overall, while the argument might be true in some aspects, Some particular proof must be generated to better evaluate the argument. In that case, the argument seems to be more reasonable, logical, and, convincing.