The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of a company producing various cloth has claimed that since they did not have accessibility to purchasing a kind of wool required to product a significant overcoat, they have ceased its production line.The company is able to supply the high quality row materials after five years and he has suggested to restart the production of the overcoat due to the growth of demand and high price contributed to this cloth. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated some evidences must be provided.

First of all, there is not an appropriate time correlation between the vice president s' assumptions and his conclusion. For instance, there is not enough information about weather stopping production was merely due to lack of high-quality row materials or there were some other factors such as low revenue obtained from selling this overcoat. Because if there were other obstacles, he would have to explain that they have been obviated after five years. Furthermore, as an active company in the filed of clothes, the recommendation has not considered this important point that fashion and consumer s' taste regarding to their styles are changing very fast. So there is not any guarantee that alpaca overcoat is still trending compared to five years ago. The argument would have been stronger if the vice president had provided enough information regarding that this kind of overcoat is still popular among people and also disability of purchasing wool is the only reason of stopping the production of overcoats.

Secondly, the argument assumes that since the major competitor has not present any alpaca overcoats, demand has increased. However, there is not specific information regarding importing this product from other countries which it might have resulted in satisfying the market needs. If the costumers had been able to buy their favorite attire, the demand would have not changed. The other factor which able to influence the rate of demand is the price of production. The prompt has mentioned that since the price of other clothes has been risen, the consumer would be ready to pay higher price for this high-quality overcoats. However, it might be an important factor for decreasing the rate of demand since people can not afford of the expensive cloths. So the argument regarding the growing demand would have been significantly under question if this product had been at market during these years or people are willing to pay for a luxury products compared to the past.

At last, the prompt has supposed that increasing the price leads to high profit for the company, however, it might have the price for purchasing row materials or the cost of production has also increased which both of them leads to constant or even low revenue. The premise regarding the profit would be completely undermined if there is not any evidence that how the rate of income and cost,reciprocally, change.

To sum up, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the vice president is able to provide specific information about some doubts mentioned above, perhaps in the form of a systematic research and real numbers, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to launch the production of alpaca overcoats again.