The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt recommend a shifting approach from more attention on educating motorcycle drivers to forcing to wearing helmet. To take this conclusion, they consider the increase in the rate of bicyclist-related accidents because drivers feel safer and drive more dangerously when they wear helmets. However, before this recommendation can be evaluated properly some assumption must be evaluate.

First of all, enough evident has not presented in order to relate the growth of accidents to the driver's feeling? It is obvious that since ten years ago, the number of motorcycles production has increased which is a very good reason for increasing the number of accidents. Moreover, as the reported results are based on percentages, we are not aware of the exact number of accidents to compare them accurately. For example, it is likely that today the extent of changes in the number of accidents is less than ten years ago but the rate is more because it would be effected by the numbers of vehicles. If either of these scenario has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significant weakened.

Besides, the main reasons of serious injuries has not mentioned. It is possible that the structure of the cities would be the main reason of accidents. For example through rising in the production of various vehicles, appropriate lines for motorcycle and bicycles has not been designed. As a result, the speed of other cars is more than motorcycles and when they collide to motorcycle, many fatal casualties occur. If this assumption that inappropriate communication road are the main reason for the accidents then the argument do not holds the water.

At last, the argument conclude that more attention on education is more useful in preventing occurring accidents than mandatory rules. However, it is possible that if the driving rules not been executed by the polices, the number of drivers wearing helmets would decrease and corresponding the rate of serious injuries in accidents would increase. Furthermore, the productivity of this conclusion is vague since educational classes have been conducted in order to teach adequate information about driving safety before obtaining the driving license. But there many delinquents people who ignore the rules easily so education is not a big deal for them to override. If, the above is true, then the argument would be unwarranted.

To sum up, because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that pedagogic training are more useful than mandatory rules for wearing helmets.