The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Quiot 's vice president has suggested that to shorten one hour from three work shifts in order to decrease the rate of on-the-job accidents. He has considered the expert's recommendation about lack of sleep and its consequences on the rate of accidents at work, and also compared the rate of Quiot 's on-the-job accidents with another industrial planet which its work shift is one hour less. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, accuracy of the assumptions should be assessed.

First of all, the vice president has assumed that the work situation in two factories are identical. It is said that the rate of accidents in Quiot was 30% more than Panoply in the past year, however it would not mention that is the number of the workers are exactly equals? If the number of employees in Quiot are less than Panoply and the number of accident would be equal, as solving a mathematics problem, therefore the rate of accidents is higher in Quito than the other. Moreover, the prompt has not mentioned that the nature of the jobs or the equipment in two manufacturing planets are alike. It is possible that working with some tools and equipment in Quiot is more dangerous than Panoply. For instance, Quiot is a factory related to construction and building field which requires that workers deal with heavy machinery and perilous methods personally, and equipment in Panoply are automatic requiring operators. Thus, the argument would have been weakened if it could not provide information about the exact number of accident and the rate of existing danger in two planets.

Furthermore, there are many factors that lead to on-the-job accidents as if sleep deprivation. It is possible that the workers have not been taught adequate training to work with devices and are not aware of the potential risks in the manufacturing environment. Maybe, the human beings are not the main reason of accidents at all in Quiot and using owned equipment which is not safe enough anymore is the cause.This argument is flawed since it would not mention that what are the main factors of accidents at work. If any assumptions mentioned above would be proven, the accuracy of the recommendation is undermined.

At last, the prompt has suggested to shorten on hour from all three work shifts without any mentioning regarding that if the number of accidents are equal in three of them? If the workers at night shifts are struggling with lack of sleep and increase in the number of accident what is the necessity of shortening working hours for two other shifts? Furthermore, the meaning of productivity from the vice president's point of view has not been defined complete because his decision is literally despite this fact that decreasing in working hours leads to increase in cost and reducing the rate of manufactures and finally low productivity. The argument would be weakened if the amount of accidents in morning and afternoon work shifts are not as much as night work shift. Even then, the argument would have to prove that decreasing one hour in shift works which in fact leads to low productivity would be compensated through other factors such as innovation or improving the process at work.

In conclusion, the recommendation as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the vice president is able to give convincing information to eliminate ambiguity of the above assumptions and offer more evidence perhaps in the form of systematic research, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of his suggestion.