The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The president of one of cheese producing factories has claimed that because of an increasing interest among people regarding consuming domestic production, and also the growth in the rate of selling this kind of cheese, it would be more profitable if this factory stop its international trades and focus on cheese produces inside the country. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated some questions must be answered.

There are dubious matters regarding the result of the research retrieved from both magazine and the rate of sales in the company. The data related to increasing amount of domestic cheese sales has been compared with only last years. So it is possible that there was some fluctuation in the rate of domestic and international distribution which would lead to this result. For instance, is the amount of productions imported to the country as the same as the internal production? It is possible that because of some problems such as corona virus pandemic, less cheese had been trade last and as a result the sales of domestic one would increase. Furthermore, the president has relied to the result of a magazine which illustrates increasing number of people interested in domestic cheese, however, he does not mention the scope of the people. For instance, it ls likely that the research has been connected in some rustic distinctions where rustic people enjoy using the cheese produced from fresh milk. Also, the nature of the subscribers is not obvious. This magazine might have had traditional subscribers who are not believe in using any cheese but their old favorite one. If either of these scenarios has merit,the the CEO 's conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

The other assumption of the president is reducing the cost by decreasing the required stocked places for imported productions. As the company has to compensate the reducing amount of importing cheese with the domestic one through more production, its demand to places for maintaining the cheese would not be obviate. Thus, the president has to answer this important question how he intends to drop the cost of stocking? Moreover, there is not an adequate evaluation on the cost required to increase the rate of production domestic cheese. It is possible that during a statistics calculation it would be determined that the cost of new products is more than money for maintaining cheeses due to its requirement to new equipment or establishing further planets in the factor. If the above mentioned questions are true, then the argument does not hold the water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stand now is considerably flawed because of its reliance to several unwarranted assumptions. If the chief is able to answer the questions above and offer more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to fully assay the viability of the proposed recommendation to stopping importing the cheese.