The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The prompt has claimed that Omni university located in proximity of Humana university was able to rise the number of online enrollment and also, decrease the cost of maintaining its buildings through the virtual education. Thus,Humana university which was not successful to meet both of above targets-reducing the cost and increasing the amount of students-has been suggested to launch this new educational method as soon as possible. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated a few questions must be answered.

First of all, are the enrollment circumstances for both of university identical as a timing point of view ? It is likely that Omni university implemented some strategies leading to increasing the number of applications last year. For instance, it might have waived the application fee or since the classes were held virtually and their sizes got bigger, it might have decided to manipulate discount on tuition fee in order to encourage potential applicants. Moreover, it is possible that increasing interest for Omni university was not only because of online classes but also there was a mandatory situation such as Covid-19 pandemic and broad lock down resulted to growth of online enrollments that year and this method is not going to work efficiently after withdrawing lock down. So, if either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Furthermore, the president of Humana university has assumed that the only reason of reducing in the cost of a university contributes to reducing the number of dormitory and and classes space. The question is that are there any factors which influence the financial issues? It would be possible Omni has suspended some research programs which requires significant annual budget as a result of passive student s' participation. Plus, maybe there was a deficiency in the Omni heating systems and the board of university would be able to fix shortages and prevent the dissipation of the energy which costs too much and save the money. If the above is true, the argument does not hold the water.

At last, are the equipment and subjects presented by universities similar? It is likely that Omni would add some new categories to its educational program which are exciting for new generation. For instance, artificial intelligence had been represented for the first time at Omni and attracted enthusiastic students to this field to pursue their education at Omni. So, the president have to evaluate the similarity between the presenting subjects at first. Besides, it is likely that Omni university would make too much efforts to establish its equipment to its student connect comfortably. For instance, providing free laptops or free network were the main reasons for the students to enroll at Omni. Thus, the quality of infrastructure should be possible to be able assess the president 's recommendation appropriately.

To sum up, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to it reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the questions above and offer more evidence perhaps in the form of confirmed documents or systematic environmental research study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate viability of the proposed recommendation to start running online classes.