The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum, the author argues that the construction of new generating plants will not be necessary. In order to support his argument, the author provide a recencet survy as well as the recent development of home appliances. Although it is possible that the total demand for electricity in the area will maintain or even drop as the author predicted, there are more underlying assumption remain unsupported for the argument about if the new generating plant is necessary as discussed below.

First of all, the author mentioned sime recent surveys which indicate that home owners are more willingly to conserve energy. The surveys are heavily rely on the assumption that the home owners involved in these surveys will be a good represent for all the home owners in the area. However, the author did not provide any information about any detail of these surveys. It it is impossible to for us to know how the survey is conducted or how does the home owner is selected for interview. It is possible that surveys are only involved a handful of familys without properly investigate the beckground. It is also possible that the question provided is bias towards conserving energy. In order to support the prediction that the home energy assumption will be lower, the author need to provide more detail about surveys he mentioned. If the survey is proved to be unwanted, it could heavily undermines the arguments.

What is more, the author suggest that because the home applicances are become more efficient, the total energy demand of average household will decrease. However, it is possible that there may be more devices that a household would have in the future such as more lighting for each room or an electric car which is needed to be recharged every single night. What is more, although the manufacutre have already developed new product with better efficiency, or building material which provides better insulation, it is impossible for every family to upgrade their home appliances or rebuild their house with new material ever so often so that the household will use less electricities. It is possible that the home owners will keep using what they already have until it is broken, and its efficiency and effectiveness is decreased in the mean time due to the aging. If these situations is proved to be true, the total energy of an average househould would increase, controdict to the author's prediction.

Even if the total energy demand will maintain at the current level, the authour still rely on the assumption that the current electric generating plants will be continuing operational for many years to come. Although the total demand may still remain under the maximum power output three prower plant can provide, it is likely that the plants needs to have more frequently inspection due to the aging. The critical parts the electrical plants use may be discontinued due to the fact that the plant is desgined more than twentiy years ago. If any of the situation is prove to be real, it is possible that the energy demand of the area will not beable to meet by the power plant for very long time if any one of three plants have failed or need extended inspection.

Generally, the author need to provide more evidence to support his argument. In order to strengent assumption about the survey, the author need to provide detailed information about the scope and the qestion provided. For the assumption about the enerage usage of average household, the author need to provide the data in household electricity usage to support the assumption. Finally the author need to provide evidence from the power grid to support that in the emergency situation such as generator failure or needed inspection, there is a backup plan ready so that the power supply of this area will not be interrupted.