The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum from the planning committee has suggested that the demand for electricity in the area would decrease based on a survey which indicates homeowners to be energy conservative. Additionally, the arrival of energy efficient home appliances is also considered to be a factor in the decline. Based on these assumptions they have decided not to build additional power plants, believing that the existing plants would suffice their needs. I strongly believe that the argument made here is incredibly flawed for three reasons.

Firstly, the arrival of home appliances which are energy-efficient in the market does not imply that the homeowners would be willing to buy them, even if the survey is to be believed. These devices may be very expensive compared to the ones existing in their homes. Hence, it would strongly depend on the economic situation of homeowners, which would, in turn, depend on the economy of that area. Therefore, it is safe to say that the presence of energy-efficient home appliances in the market does not correspond to the fact that they will be bought just for conserving electricity. Hence arguing based on this assumption is bad.

Secondly, the demand for electricity might not plummet at all. Statistically speaking, the population of an area is bound to increase in most cases, which would automatically contribute to an increase in the number of homes and consequently resulting in expanding the boundaries of that area. Considering these circumstances, it might be safe to assume that the demand for electricity might rise, even if it is for the slightest. Therefore, one can say that the decision of not adding power plants to the existing arsenal is foolish. Additionally, since the plants have been working for more than twenty years, one can also say that technology on which the plants are based on might be outdated. If there is an actual hunt for energy conservation, it might actually be wise to construct new plants, just to save electricity in the long run. Thus, these pieces of evidence prove that the argument does not hold water.

To sum up the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed, due to the carious unwarranted assumptions. However, the memorandum can be taken into consideration if the company addresses the assumptions that contribute to the argument, by giving sufficient pieces of evidence to solidify it.