The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compellingreasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The speaker has asserted that millennials have to cooperate to lead the society across all fields. It has also been claimed that competition among young people can be deleterious to the growth of society. In my opinion, even though cooperation is very important to effectuate development, it is important for youth to compete amongst themselves to learn and expand their horizons. Hence, I partially disagree with the prompt and would like to reason with two arguments.

Firstly, it is essential to observe the path that the world has followed since ancient times. Animals have always competed to survive, resulting in the passage of the best possible set of genes to the progeny. This has been thoroughly explained by Charles Darwin in his book 'The Origin of Species' which terms natural selection as one of the most important factors that contribute towards the conservation and development of a species in the ecosystem. Analogously, if the same concept is applied to modern human society, we can observe that human beings have always competed to survive. Competition always results in shaping the best possible outcome, thereby helping the advancement of society. In this case, leadership qualities excessively contribute to function better in high ranked jobs in the public and private sectors. Competition is the only possible way to weed out the average and select the best for the job, thus making it slightly more important than cooperation.

On the other hand, one may also argue that excessive competition might lead to disputes in the work environment, resulting in decreased efficiency. If two eminent individuals working on a project, constantly argue and fight to gain the spotlight, it might lead to negligence of important work, due to an increase in focus towards petty issues. If the two individuals were brought up in a way, such that they concentrated on the greater good rather than on individualistic improvement, the project might have reached completion. Hence, it is appropriate to infer that excessive competition can be a bane to society.

To sum up, the issue presented in this prompt is a contentious one. The society cannot live in the absence of either of the two, making both cooperation and competition essential for the development of society. Consequently, they must go hand in hand in hand in view of the bigger picture.