The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Society requires both cooperative and competitive leaders. Each has their place in inspiring and pushing achievements in various fields. In fact, each often depends on the other, with a few exceptions. Examining cases in the miliary, government, technology and the arts illuminates this necessity.

Training for the US armed forces provides eluidation on the criticality of teamwork. College students in reserve officer training (ROTC) will graduate and immediately be placed in a leadership position managing enlisted servicemen. Yet during the four years of training, the first two emphasize teamwork alone: working in collaboration with one's peers to learn marching skills, uniform maintenance and presentation capacity. At the midpoint of school, trainers then orient students to prepare for leadership roles. To be selected for such roles, trainees must distinguish themselvess through competitive physical fitness tests and academic performance. However, upon graduation, while managing enlisted troops which might have 20+ years of field experience, these new officers will find themselves at the bottom of military heirarchy, which will again require them to cooperate well with peers.

In some cases, competition is the motivator for achievement, and sometimes it is the goal in and of itself. Thus this makes collaboration in between. During election campaigning, staffers develop and maintain close relationships while supporting eachother during the long, strenuous hours. These staffers share goals in governence and are inspired by a shared vision. But at the end, the goal of the campaign is to beat the competition.

Another example of such a symbiotic relationship can be found in the private sector. Bill Gates had the dream to innovate new solutions for economical water purification in developing countries. While it was largly altruistic motives and love for mankind that inspired this dream, Bill was not able to enlist the involvement of top universities until he declared it a competition amongst them. He had written to eight universities, and none responded until they were moved to win amongst fellow academics.

While competition and collaboration are certainly key in many roles in society, young people should also be instilled with the value of independence. There are some persuits of excellence, such as in music or the arts in which introverts commit many solitary hours to a work that will be presented and credited to them alone. In such cases, young peopl

Collaboration and competition are the ying and yang of prudent leadership. Thus, it is sagacious that young people should be instructed and excited about each aspect to reach excellence. In the military, government, technology and other arenas, team work is often essential in the incipient phases of a career and participation in society. Yet there is a middle ground when some achievements can be reach by neither.