The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A study on the headaches of Mentia hypothesizes that the rate of residents' suffering will decline in the future due to commercial use of Salicylatesin.  The study's hopeful conclusion is based upon plausible ideas, but if uncorroborated, may lead to disappointing results.   The study does not distinguish between correlation and causation, does not qualify generalizations about food companies, or delineate the study methodology.

The primary contention is whether an increase in use of Salicylatesin as food preservatives and flavoring is the cause of ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.