The following appeared in the summary of a study on

headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine

used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for

the past several decades, food processing companies have al so been adding

salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates

has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of

headaches reported by participants in our twenty year study. Recently,

food proc essing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor

additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued

steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of

Mentia."

In the summary, the speaker drew the conclusion that by using salicylates as a food additive can contribute to the future headache reported in the town of Mentia. To back his claim, the speaker used a study to correlate the decrease of headache cases reported the commercial use of salicylates. He also mentioned about the discovery from food processing company that aspirin could be used as a flavor additive to food. All of those facts, the speaker claimed, can further reduce the headache cases reported in the town of Mentia. Although his reasonings may look promising at first glances, the logic and assumptions behind his argument is flawed.

First, as the speaker mentioned about the 20-year study of the correlation between the reduce number of headache cases and the commercial use of salicylates, he would assume that such a study is very objective and whose result is reliable. Since there is no mentioning, however, about the actual method used to study those people, the assumption that the result is cogent cannot be made in the first place. Perhaps that the reduce in number of cases reported is a representation of a placebo effect, because the people might be informed that such ingredients is present in their food and there is no placebo contrast experiment mentioned in the summary. Or perhaps the study changed their diet structure, which reduce the unhealthy food that might cause headache. Therefore, without detailed data and how the study was conducted, the correlation of the decrease in number of headache case reported cannot be used as a cogent argument to reach the final conclusion from the speaker.

Second, even assuming that the result from the study was accurate, the author also mentioned about the new usage of salicylate as a food flavor, which he claims will further reduce the number of headache cases. Such claim, however, also includes unfounded assumption that those food companies will for sure add salicylates to their final products, and those products will be consumed by the citizens from Mentia. Because there is neither report regarding the future use of salicylates at a food flavor, nor regarding the customer of buying such foods, the conclusion cannot be cogently drawn.

Last but not least, even assume that people are going to consume foods that contains salicylates as flavor additive, the claim that the case number of headaches would be further decreases. To reach the conclusion by the author, the assumptions that the current patients of headaches are not take effective medicine must be made in the first place. Since there is no mentioning about the demographics of aspirin usage from Mentia, there might not be even any decrease in the number reported. Perhaps the people who suffered from headaches have already taken aspirin but their symptom did not go away, or even perhaps that their headaches are caused by some other sources that cannot be cured by salicylates. Without information from the people, the author’s claim that using salicylates can further reduce the number of headaches is flawed.

To sum up, the author made series potential flawed assumptions in his argument. To make the summary more cogent, he would have to mention the details of the study conducted, the food additive plan from the factory, customer willingness to buy the food as well as the demographic information about the people who suffered from headaches in Mentia to cogently reach his final conclusion.