There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species

In the statement, the speaker claims that contributing huge amount of efforts, which can lead to reduce in job opportunities and loss in money, to save the endangered species is not worthwhile. For most of the cases, I think the author's claim is justifiable, with only a few exceptions in which human must contribute to the plan of save species from extinction for the following reasons.

First of all, I agree with the statement under the assumption that there is no or vague evidence that can indicate resources, such as human, time and money, spent on saving those endangered species can actually revitalize their overall population. In reality, because of lack of data about their living conditions and preferred habitats, very few detailed plans can be made to effectively save the endangered species with the resources, which can be used more efficiently in other fields, such as educations, we have. we might pour millions of dollars and loss hundreds of local jobs or loss lives in the process of a badly planned conservation action. consider a plan, which may consume millions of dollars that can otherwise be spent on expanding school facilities, that was designed to save an endangered species of bird, for example. if such a species of bird is not well studied, the plans would not likely be designed thoroughly. The lack of consideration may lead to duplicated spending such as over-qualified personnel employment, and all these potential wastes can be used for plans for education more efficiently. therefore, because of the lack of knowledge about these endangered species, spending huge amount of precious social resources is going to yield amateur plans, which are going to cause overall waste.

Furthermore, even assuming that well-studied plans can be made to save these endangered species efficiently, we must also consider their competitiveness in their natural environment. In another words, the process of natural selection is another element that we must consider before we make extraordinary efforts to save them. if certain species lacks some critical functions to survive in the wild, saving them would only introduce a blackhole that may consume infinite amount of resources without contributing any benefit to the human society. Hypothetically, consider a species of deer has defect in their eyesight, this defect will naturally make them become endangered or even extinct because of lack of ability to spot predators. any efforts that will bring this species of deer back to prosperity would only mean that such species is not suitable for any environment except that under human control. After all, it would not make much sense to save a species that can only survive under the help of human, and such conservation activity would only mean a huge resource pit that will not contribute anything.

On the other hand, I concede that there are some situations that human should devote much effort to save some endangered species, especially the reason for their endangerment comes from human and the benefit from the conservation action greatly overshadows the costs. because of human activities, such as deforestation, excessive pollution from factories, certain species become endangered from the reasons of loss of desirable habitats, shortage of food supplies and increase of global temperatures. More importantly, many of those species provides elements that are critical to the normal functioning of human society, such as sustainable food supplies. consider bees, for example; while they may not be categorized as endangered, their activities and population are definitely threatened by human factors such as pollution. bees not only provides us with honey, but they are also an important species in spreading pollens for plant like wheat, which is critical in providing adequate food supplies to human. therefore, designing a conservation for species like bees, even as cost of losing job opportunities and huge resource spending is worthwhile since its endangerment is cause by human and the benefit for saving those species greatly outruns the cost.

In a nutshell, we would put the precious human, money and time resources at the risk of inefficient utilization if we decided to save every endangered species without discretion. only when a species is well-studied and the benefit of conservation greatly outruns the cost should we plan such actions to save them, even at the risk of losing jobs and money.