Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education

The claim suggests that across all variations of education, competition for high grades can only do harm do the education and nothing good. It might look reasonable at first glance that worrying only about grades is deleterious to the quality of education in general, however, if we take a deeper examination of the problem, I think it would be an overestimate to say that working for high grades will impose limitation of education across all levels.

First, I concede that for education of younger children, just focusing on academic grades will not serve the full purpose of education at a younger age. Since students at that age are required to learn about social norms, critical thinking and other skills that might be useful for their future lives, evaluating that knowledge on a basis of grades is not likely to help them acquire those skills fully. Just like children in kindergarten, although they are required to learn about numbers and some of the basics of mathematics, such learnings are more based on the premises to build a common sense, which will be helpful in their future. A grading system based on their performance of mathematics, thus, will not be suitable for a lower level education. Instead of helping them build a sense of numbers, and potentially foster their interest about math in the future, focusing on grading, because of the emphasis on scores rather than interest, is likely to do harm to the desired goal for lower level education.

On the other hand, however, the goal for higher education is drastically different from that of lower age education, and this difference suggests that evaluating students based on grades can be efficient and fair. Unlike the lower-age education, more advanced education, such as undergraduate and graduate schools, are based more on academic skills rather than social skills, which might not be evaluated clearly on grades. Take the same subject of math, for example. At a college level, students will be required to take some courses in calculus. Unlike the common sense and interest build process at a younger age, college students who take calculus are expected to acquire the academic skills, which can hardly be evaluated efficiently other than the method of grades. Thus, for higher education, I think it is efficient and fair to evaluate students based on grade level.

Moreover, the grade system today’s higher education is tailored to meet the goal of different courses. Such customizations will, to a large extent, capture the goals intended by the school or the class, and the score will reflect a balanced performance of the student. Thus, when students are working toward a higher score, he or she will be working towards to goals as well. Take the engineering programs in almost every universities in the US for example; since engineering is a highly practical area that requires real-world experience, other than the grade based on examinations, schools also incorporate lab courses, which are also evaluated in the final grades for the students. Likewise, art students are also expected to incorporate what they learned in their products other than only memorizing the skills they are required. Therefore, based on the comprehensive requirement for gradings, competition for a higher grade at a high-level education will not likely pose any limitations on the end result.

After all, it would be unfair to treat grades uniformly as a limit to the quality of education across all education. Since different level education have different expectations on the students, although in some situations, only pursuing higher grades can do harm to the quality. But for higher education in general, such worries are redundant.