There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species

The statement claims that the endangered species are not worthwhile to be saved especially when it comes with great costs to our society. For most of the case, I think such claim is justifiable, and there might be only a few exceptions to the claim for the following reasons.

First of all, I agree with the statement under the assumption that if there is no clear evidence that can prove a positive result, such as a revitalization of the overall population, aimless expenditure is purely waste of precious human, time and mone resourced from the society. Consider a species of bird that lived deep in the jungle, so deep that nearly no man has ever encountered them, let alone their preferred living conditions and habitats. So, in order to come up with a detailed plan, hundreds of scientists all around the world devote years of time and millions of dollars in money while still achieve no meaningful progress in saving that species. Those time and money, nevertheless, could be used to save those species that are better studied and documented, and yield a more efficient use of those resources that might otherwise be wasted. Therefore, from the standpoint of using resources efficiently, we should avoid spending a huge amount of our precious on s saving project that might lead to a dead end.

Furthermore, even assume that there could yield a positive result for those specific species themselves at efficient use of our resources, we must confirm that those species are still, indeed, competitive in their loving condition, and their endangered condition is caused by human activities. For the most of the time, the extinction and the endangered condition is a result of natural selection, and to let the trend move forward, we must respect of the process of natural selection instead of interfering it often. Just like the bird example mentioned in the last paragraph; perhaps its endangered condition appeared because of a more competitive species of bird have evolved and have developed better ability at foraging foods that both species depend on. Just by claiming that a species is endangered does not mean that their conditions are all caused by human activity and its our responsibility to save them.

For those who disagree with the statement, they may argue that since mankind is the most powerful species on earth, we have the responsibility to save the planet But for most of those advocates, the intentionally or unintentionally assumed that the benefit for saving those species would overshadow the costs that we might take, and its endangeredness is caused by human society. Just like bees, which are crucial in producing honey and spreading pollen. In this case, it is worth our time and other resources since the value of saving such species has greatly overshadows the costs, even at loss of jobs and money, and they are reduced in numbers are a clear result of the golbal warming that threatened their habitats. Overall, there are only few species that are justified for us to spend huge amount of our resurces on because they satisfied both assumptions.