Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Should government focus on the solving the immediate issues? I believe the answer to most of the people is "yes". After all, one of the most critical function of government is to ensure the well-being of its people. But claiming that the government should put more effort on solving the current issues than on future problems is problematic, since living standards of the people also depend on policies that might be finialized in the future. In my opinion, I think the improtance of solving furture issues is , if not the same, greater than just dealing with the problem that a government is facing now.

As I mentioned in the last paragraph, since the main duty of a government is to ensure the long-term well-being of its citizens, a long-term plan for the future must be made in the first place. To cope with the plans, various decisions will be made based on both the current condition and the anticipation for the ultimate result of realizing the plan, which can benefit its citizens in the long run. Consider the interstate highway project, for example; it is undeniable, from today's point of view, that this project has benefited the development of commercial activities, advancement in technology and many other fileds. This project, in my opinion, represents a perfect balance bewteen the consideration for the future and current. Had the US government made a more abitious plan for the transportation, such as a national high speed railroad network, we might not be able to witness the Apollo space program. On the other hand, had the US government focused only on the well-being of citizens at the current level, the national highway might be impossible to build and left with us a nation in which commerce and techology are extermely difficult to develope. In either case, the government would fail to bring its citizens a long-term benefits. So from the standpoint of the duty of ensuring well-being, a balanced focuse should be made on both sides.

Furthermore, other than ensuring the well-being of its citizens, future plans are also important in increasing the competitiveness, which is then coverted into advantages for its citizens, of a country in the world. Just like China's reformation, which largely contributed to the unpresidentd growth of its wealth and technology in the 21th century, in the 1970s. The core idea behind such reformations is to increase the economical condition of the country in the long run. Had the government of China only focused of what it deemed the most important, like the quotas in electrivity and steel production, advanced technologies like DJI drones and Huawei's 5G, which ultimately made China more competitive are hardly imaginable.

Admittedly, there are circumstances under which more emphasis should be put on current issues than on the future plans. But such shift of concentration is only applicable to seldom and urgent cases, which happen seldomly. Just like earthquakes and tsunamis; no government can ignore the damage from the nature disaster and continue with its long term plans, such as development in military technologies. Various actions must be taken to address the issues, that threaten the living conditions of its citizens, immedately. After all, addressing the current issue does not contradict with the main fuction of a government, that is to improve the living conditions of its citizens in all time.

To sum up, it would be unreasonable to take the statement to both extreme since to benefit a country, decisions and plans must be made considering the furture and current condition. A government should make apporpriate amount of attention to the current and future based on specific conditions instead of a general idea.