Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Any government when comes to power faces some immediate problems, which requires immediate actions: it could be due to the poor policies made by earlier government or a persistent problem(s) that the nation faces for a long time, e.g., economic slowdown, poverty, unemployment, etc. The prompt suggests that the government should focus more on the immediate problems than the anticipated problems. I mostly agree with the prompt and will elaborate on my position with three examples.

Firstly, considering a democratic government which is elected based on the promises that it made during their election campaign. The government then obliged to fulfill all the promises that were part of their memorandum. In most of the cases, the main problems that influence the voters are preexisting in nature. For example, the current government of India, the world’s largest democracy, wins the poll with landslide victory since they promised to control the corruption and take immediate actions against those accused, which is at that time the country’s biggest problem. If, however, the government contested the poll for some future anticipated problems like climate change, etc. It is highly unlikely that the government would have won the elections. So it binds the government to fulfill the immediate problems rather than focuses on the problems of the future.

Secondly, if the country is facing a very severe problem (e.g., pollution, inflation, unemployment, economic recession, etc.), which can affect the entire population. It doesn’t make sense that the government should focus on any other problem but that. For example, Pakistan is currently facing an economic problem due to various national debts and corruption and the problem of terrorism. If the government doesn’t take any action to make policies that address those issues. It has the potential to affect the entire population as that may lead to many other problems like unemployment, poverty, etc. This forced the government to solve immediate problems as compared to future problems.

Lastly, if a country is alarmed by their plummeting GDP numbers that indicate that the country is facing an economic slowdown, and heading towards an economic recession. And if the government doesn’t take any actions at that time, it is inevitable that the country will suffer from the recession and millions have to lose their jobs. This can have drastic consequences for any country. For example, India, which was one of the fastest-growing economies, is currently facing an economic slowdown, and the government of India is taking every possible measure to improve the country’s economic condition. Hence, in these cases, the government must focus on future problems than present problems.

In conclusion, whether the government should focus on solving present or future problems actually depends upon the gravity of the problem, and the country should take every possible action to tackle it as it can affect the lives of many people.