Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In the modern world, most people like to have role models in their life, which is a source of inspiration for them; they called them their 'hero.' The prompt suggests that, now, it is tough to refer to any living person as 'hero.' I mostly agree with the prompt and will elucidate my position with three reasons.

Firstly, nowadays, with widespread coverage of media, it is virtually impossible for anyone to hide even the slightest of misbehavior, scandals, accusations, controversies, etc. Thus, if one idolizes somebody famous, there is a considerable possibility that the person's bad deeds will surface the media at some point in time. For example, Tiger Woods, the great American golfer, who was idolized by many as their role model because of his exceptional career, eventually came under strong criticism and defamation by media for his divorce scandal. Thus, no one is perfect and even the greatest achievers are susceptible to commit mistakes which surfaces the media as breaking news. So, can we really call such personalities as "heroes?" Probably not. Another example could be the notorious American athlete, O.J. Simpson, who was hailed by many as an American hero until his murder accusations become 'the talk of the town.' Thus one cannot truly consider someone as a hero as no one is perfect, and people are bound to make mistakes.

Secondly, in today's diverse society, no one has a particular belief, and people tend to differ a lot in their choices and have their individual opinions. Thus someone may appear as a role model for some section of the society for the other it maybe not. For example, Mother Teresa was considered by many as saint women who help and take care of people and is considered by many as the epitome of kindness. But, for many others, she is not a good lady and has a horrible past. So the way one perceives people is subjective. Thus we cannot generalize anybody to be a 'hero.'

Lastly, if someone comes out as clean from any accusation or scandal and doesn't involve in any bad controversy, then such person is someone which people admired even more as these individuals are rare. For example, Narendra Modi, the prime minister of India, the largest democracy in the world, has never involved in any controversy in contrast to his contemporaries. So ones the political party made him the party face for a prime ministerial candidate, the fortunes of the party changed drastically as it won the recent elections with a landslide victory. The widespread popularity of him made him a 'hero' for the majority in the country.

In conclusion, regarding someone as 'hero' is difficult in today's time; however, if someone has devoted his entire life in mastering his craft and become exceptional in it, and stayed away from the luring mirages, which one get being famous, and thus avoid getting into controversies, scandals, etc. Then such individuals have the potential to be considered by many as a real role model and a real 'hero.'