1.1. The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The note mentions that according to the identical family root with aspirin and steady decline of reported headache by the study group in Mentia for the sake of using the salicylates in the food industry, salicylates can be considered as the painkiller for headache. In addition, there is a prediction that based on the current exploration about the possible usage of salicylates as a flavor in the food industry, the number of denizens of Mentia suffering the headache will continue to decrease. This conclusion and its supporting clues cannot be accepted as it stands since it relies on some vague pieces of evidence and requires further explanation. The following paragraphs will list these ambiguities and required evidence and discerption.

The first shaky evidence of the note which used to depict that salicylates is a painkiller is the possessing the same family with aspirin which is an analgesic. Owning the identical family cannot be guaranteed for having the identical properties since the different atomic arrangements lead to various types of characteristics in materials; for instance, the various type of atomic arrangement of carbon lead to the formation of graphic and diamond which are completely two separated materials with contradicted features. Therefore, this clue requires further substantial rearing evidence about the properties of salicylates to give the credits to this substance as a painkiller. Otherwise, a holistic sentence about a similar family root cannot be a cogent reason for owning the same feature as aspirin.

The second skeptical part of the note is about the discussed study which has been conducted during the twenty years. As long as, there is no comprehensive information about this study and its research method there is a list of crux concerns, such as the scope of case studies, the accuracy of the case studies as the public indication, or lifestyle of this group during the study, which doubts the validity of this study. For example, if the last concern which is about the lifestyle of samples is considered for further evaluation, there should be concrete pieces of evidence about the daily diet, amount of intake salicylates by this group, the level of pain before and after consumption of salicylates until there will be adherence reason for representing the effectiveness of this substance as the analgesic. Thus, the consideration of unclear about details and prolonged study as a reason for the treatable feature of salicylates is doubtful.

Finally, with conditional acceptance of the analgesic feature for salicylates, the prediction which is done in the conclusion section cannot be verified for two main reasons. This first reason is the lack of evidence about salicylates as the flavor will have the identical feature as it has as a preservative; since there is a probability that for the sake of combination with other ingredients of food faces the alteration in the property; consequently, it will not have the previous treatable feature. The second reason is about lack of information about the intake dose of salicylate; since there is a possibility of the additive usage of this substance in the food industry will overpass in its intake limit and leads to other severe health issues.