“Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

A government’s role is to represent the will of the people and to keep the peace amongst them. There is a high degree of complexity in the ways and means to performing this function. Due to the tendency of bias in circumventing civil laws to detect and and prosecute criminals, the best solution is for governments to respect the rights in the constitution and that the citizens have elected to put in place. This clear when examining even the most quotidian examples of governments not respecting the will of the people.

Unlawful imprisonment without a fair trial is a notorious injustice, with numerous examples of in recent history. The US government was responsible for such activities during the Red Scare in post-WWII days. Artists and liberals with fringe beliefs were black-listed from creative bodies due to potential involvement with communist activities. Suspicion without proof was enough to ruin the careers and lives of many. Trial by media and association was the only trial some received. In a more extreme examples, racial profiling of muslim Americans has perniciously allowed a wave of violence and wrongful imprisonment. Without adequate legal representation “justice” was implemented unevenly.

Trespassing the citizens’ right to privacy is a second common occurrence corroborated by “national security.” The Wikileaks scandal of a decade ago exposed a vast network of surveillance put in place by the government without just cause. As citizens were not informed of such activities - although paid for with tax dollars - no balancing, monitoring body was put in place to temper the scope of such activities. Such actions have resulted in a wave of fear that has spread to mistrust of even private entities such as Google and Amazon, in terms of the data which is collected and how it is used. Ultimately, the government sets precedent for what is appropriate and necessary for security, and thus the erosion of laws occur when the government is allowed exception.

In summation, the ends do not justify the means when it comes to protecting a country as a whole when it compromises the rights of individuals. If rights were perfectly delineated, and it were possible to perfect execute every activity, perhaps exceptions to civil laws would be possible. However, the most prudent method of preventing infringement on true democracy is for national bodies to follow the laws that have been put in place.