The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Dr. Karp’s article is attempting to make two claims based on his work on Tertia Island. She believes that Dr. Field’s conclusions about child-rearing norms are false, and that his observation-centered approach is invalid. These statements are based on fallacious logic regarding research methodology. Dr. Karp does not authenticate her inferences by delineating proof. The exact opposite results could be proven, or the work and methods of both doctors may be faulty.

Of prime importance is for Dr. Karp to review the application of observation-based approach and interview-based approach to Tertia. Were study subjects a representative sample of the entire island? What were the ages of the children observed or interviewed? What was the duration and condition of observations or interviews? If either study did not use a representative sample, no conclusions can be made about the village as a whole. Additionally, the conditions of the observation or interviews can bias results, based on the relationship between researcher and participant. If participants are not aware they are being observed, more accurate information may be gained. If the interview questions are phrased in a leading way, or if the children become confused or bored by the exchange, this could impact results. Thus, the methods of both doctors could be valid, but simply applied on Tertia in a flawed way.

Secondarily, Dr. Karp assumes that if her results appear to contradict Dr. Field’s work, he must be wrong and she right. In reality, perhaps the doctors have discovered nuances of child-rearing culture that have not been realized before. For example, although the village children may spend time with a range of adults on the island, their relationship with biological parents is still most sacred. Time spent with offspring may not impact their character development as much as brief moments of role modeling by a parent. In such condition, the work and documentation of both doctors may be legitimate, but a bridging survey is necessary to make sense of the results.

Lastly, Dr. Karp theorizes that her work is universally applicable. She assumes that child-rearing patterns remain the same as they were 20 years ago, and that her conclusions about such patterns can be applied to island cultures as a whole. The former is a careless presumption, given quickly modernizing societies around the world. The later seems plausible due to globalization and the melding of cultures, yet does not match with the rigor and sophistication that usually characterizes the work of anthropologists.

Hopefully Dr. Karp’s article goes on to evince her suppositions about research methods, child-rearing patterns, and application of results. If not, the argument has much to be desired. There are wide gaps in the connections she attempts to make between the approaches and results of Dr. Field and her own. Without further evidence, fellow researchers may find that none or all of the factors in consideration are valid.