Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The government system is in place for the peace, order, and well-being of large populations of people. For the specificity of this essay, we will assume we are referring to democratic governments. Given that each member of the society is not able to voice their opinion on every decision, political leaders (PL) must to do so. PL are singularly in office to represent the will of their constituents. As such, they can and must adjust their standpoints to the changing views of the citizens. However, their role should be conducted in accordance with the complexities of the system in which they operate - including political parties and budget constraints.

When a politician is elected to office, he or she is selected based on views and intentions expressed during the election campaign and also the political party to which he or she is a member. Political parties exist to solidify approaches to a specific issue or group of issues. As not every citizen is educated on the standpoints of every government official, parties assist voters to understand generally which set of views that politicians may align themselves with. Campaign debates also highlight a politician’s approach to issues that may be contentious at the time. Lastly, the character of the politician or other more subtle characteristics of the PL may come into play in their appointment.

Given these factors in how a PL is given his or her office, when an event occurs in society that may impact the priorities or opinions of the voter base, a PL has the responsibility to realign themselves with this shift. For example, a county constituency may generally be in support of freedoms for gun-owners. However, if a mass-shooting occurs in that district which impacts public sentiment towards greater gun control, a PL should be sensitive to this change. Such a realignment is important to making the residents of that area feel safe in their environment. Other germane occurrences may include natural disaster or immigration pressures.

A PL may appear to waver from the social contract between he and the voters when compromises are made to keep the PL in office, or when the PL determines that his or her personal principles prevent the support of popular opinion. The former action is generally short-sighted and not appropriate cause to misrepresent the wishes of the people. Such impetus may be due to pressure from lobbyist groups which can impact campaign funding and thus the possibility of a PL’s reelection. A rare expectation which gives cause to challenge public opinion would be when legislative compromise is necessary to move past administrative or legislative deadlock. Such an event occurred recently in the US when the Democratic and Republican parties became so polarized that no bill could be passed through Senate or House. A PL may also have the responsibility to act against popular opinion if he or she was elected to office largely based on character. In such a case, a PL may choose to abandon certain promises made during the campaign when it conflicts with fundamental principles.

Citizens trust PLs to represent them in the democratic system. If PLs break this social contract, the system is broken. Thus, PLs have the responsibility to generally vote with the party to which they belong, and to adjust their stances when the sentiment of constituents has changed.