Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Educational institutions have a responsibility to guide students into the field of study which will give them the best opportunity to become productive members of society. In recently studies, approximately 85% of incoming college freshman have cited future employment as a primary reason for pursuing higher education. Thus, as highlighted by the proposed policy, availability of work should be a key element of guidance. This policy should be enacted with the understanding that some individuals will not be satisfied with just any occupation. Its implementation involves sensitivity towards the personality and personal situation of each student, as well as to the maintenance of certain academic fields.

Without proper guidance, some pragmatic students may find themselves switching majors late in their college years upon realizing their career opportunities will not be as expected upon graduation. In the past decade, higher education institutions have been slandered as a money-making enterprise, due to the numbers of students who graduate to decades of monthly student loan payments. Therefore, at high school and collegiate level, institutions have an obligation to provide information about how studies do and will correspond with vocations in the world beyond its campus. Fortunately at high school level, criteria for acceptance into further education can itself filter students into areas where they can be most successful, or at least away from areas for which they are not competitive enough to qualify. For example, scholarships are offered to women applying to enter STEM programs, given the high demand for professionals in these fields. Although college degrees are increasingly seen as the only path to high-paying jobs in America, matriculating high school students should be informed of the many positions available through trade schools, such as construction or mechanic occupations.

The complex aspect of implementing this policy is that although many students seek education as a means for employment, some may not have considered their personal suitability for certain activities. Advocating only for careers in which work is plentiful would be a myopic approach to helping students select metiers best-suited for them, as otherwise the most bountiful opportunities will not make individuals happy in their lives. For some, financial gain will be a significant part of their emotional security, so only the most lucrative employment will satisfy. Others may not be able to maintain a position without being intellectually stimulated. For still others, the physical location or schedule of a job may have more influence on it’s desirability than any other aspect. Remuneration, stimulation or lifestyle specifics are additional motivation that students should be given ample opportunity to consider.

Due to societal assumptions that education equals employment, institutions do have an obligation to inform their students of the reality of this assumption. However, most of Americans will spend more time with colleagues and clients than their own families, joy and satisfaction with the activity is a critical aspect for a realistic criteria of future work.