People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

"I can't quite put my finger on it." Those are words of someone trusting their intuition, a vague feeling that may be difficult to describe in words. It is fallacious to say that those who make decisions with emotion are poor decision makers. This does not consider all aspects of the human sensory system, nor the seemingly "unnatural" events that might occur in a high-stress situation, nor inveterate expertise. There are nuances of the human psyche which might position a person to be an even better decision maker than another who make decisions on logic alone.

There is a point in which someone's level of knowledge is so deeply apprehended that they are able to make decisions on instinct. In Malcom Gladwell's book called Blink, he articulates the ten-thousand hour rule. This is a general level of experience required to craft what some could call a "genius" in their field. For example, fire-fighters who can make a snap judgement in an unstable building, about whether a floor will collapse, are basing their action not on scientifically tested observations, but a sense that occurs from having been in many other buildings consumed in flames. Their decision may appear to be based on adrenaline, but is actually gained from many hours of experience.

In another example of actions beyond explanation is when a person taps into the primordial fight or flight instinct. Such individuals may gain inexplicable abilities, such as lifting a collapsed vehicle off the victim of a car-crash. In other circumstances, human strength could never be mustered to lift such an object. In risky encounters with strangers or being under attack, some may gain a a life-saving biological response, although logically the choice was based only on fear.

In psychology, it is believed there are several methods of input for which a human can choose to respond: senses, intuition, feeling, and logic. While one can weight the pros ad cons of a choice ad nausem, some who listen to the most quiet voice inside themselves - their intuition, can reach a choice that is far more appropriate than from any other method. For example, those who choose a spouse after knowing them for only a few days, and have a successful multi-decade marriage. However, some individuals may act out of passion, and end up with a divorce a month later.

Each human perhaps has a stronger connection to various methods of input, and must weight those methods, based on a track record of experience. A blanket statement about the aptitude of all choices not based on logic is a dangerous stereotype. Ingrained expertise, primordial response, and intuition are strong alternatives to logic which can lead to successful outcomes.