Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter to the editor postulates that US resources should be invested in unmanned rather than manned space flight.  This is based entirely on the idea that a) manned missions are expensive and dangerous, and b) unmanned vehicles are able to gather a lot of information.  However, the writer does not consider the quality and type of information being gathered.  He or she assumes that the difference in costs is more important than the value of the mission.  Acting on such assumptions could permanently limit comprehension of our universe.

A "great deal of useful information" is a vague claim on the value of unmanned space probes and satellites.  The writer should consider the types of intelligence that probes and satellites can obtain.  Rather than the greater solar system, these devices are often used as surveillance for conditions of the planet Earth.  Additionally, once these devices are released into the atmosphere, they cannot be reclaimed.  Thus, gathering samples of soils, gases and other matter is not possible. On the first mission into outer space, American astronauts visited the moon and touched its surface.  Certain observations and judgements about the conditions of the environment could not have been made with unmanned crafts.  They are also able to problem-solve in experiments in a way that artificial intelligence would not have the capacity for.  As with so many technology advances - such as optimization software in transportation design - machines can develop infinite amounts of data, but subjective, human interpretation must still be made. Sometimes this is most effectively done live, in person.

Secondarily, the writer assumes that the risk level of human space travel is not worth the value of the information obtained.  In the past, astronauts have experienced and reported about the physical conditions of zero-gravity environments, and about how time-passage is experienced in such an environment. Such information is critical, given that humans have considered habitation on planets other than Earth.  In fact, such considerations are impossible without it.  A large challenge requires a large investment. The fact that many more astronauts desire to travel to space than are permitted, regardless of the risk, is an indicator of consensus of this.

If the letter-writer's explication is to be followed, human knowledge of our environment and activities would be permanently limited.  For example, humans might still believe the Earth is flat, if ocean travel had been considered too dangerous to be undertaken.  If science had not invested in experimenting with physical construction capacity, skyscrappers would never have been built.  This would have a huge impact on how urbanization and human settlement has developed in the last few centuries.  Vaccines and cures for disease must ultimately be tested on humans, despite the hazard, if they are to be developed successfully. Again, experts in the field demonstrate their support for taking their risk. Epidemiologists knowingly put themselves in harm's way by taking uncertain treatments on themselves.

The writer should consider the type and quality of information being obtained by manned and unmanned vessels.  Prior to jumping to conclusions, we must know more about what information can be gathered by manned and unmanned vehicles. This should be juxtaposed by what information is needed and how it can be used. Lastly, she or he should also consider the value of the risk and the cost. Ultimately, the stakes for humankind may be too critical to assume that money and safety are more important.