The following is from a recent email from the Diord Corp. Human Resources Manager:

“Tobor Technologies found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about 15 percent of employee sick days. Tobor amended its employee insurance plan so that workers receive the same coverage for mental illness as they do for physical illness. In addition, the company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system that allows workers to schedule confidential counseling appointments. After one year, the number of sick days used by employees declined by 10 percent. Diord Corp. has had an increase in employee sick days over the past two years, so we should introduce a similar insurance plan and counseling program. These measures will surely reduce employee absenteeism and cause an increase in productivity.”

Write a response in which you examine the argument’s unstated assumptions, making sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Tobor Technologies has added some prudent and generous support for their employees in an effort to improve employee attendance. Although their efforts appear to have been rewarded, there are missing links between decreased employee mental health and absenteeism in general. Diord Corp espouses this fallacious logic and compounds it by assuming conditions at Diord are the same as Tobor. Lastly, no substantial proof has been offered definitively connecting an employee’s presence in the office with actual increase in productivity. Of any of the above mentioned assumptions are false, Diord could be making a poor investment in their company.

Mental health is cited to be the reason for 15% of employee sick days. One year later, a decline in sickdays is presumed to be a result of increased mental health support at Tobor. However, several other causes may have created this change. Physical rather than mental illness may have declined, given that there is no delineation between the two in the second year of the study. Additionally, a placebo effect of sorts may have occurred: respondents may have changed behavior simply as a result of being studied, than than for any true benefit from increased mental health days or counseling opportunities.

Secondarily, there is no substantiation of the assumption that Tobor Tech’s working conditions and causes for absenteeism are the same at Diord Corp. If mental health does not contribute to absenteeism to the same degree as Tobor Tech, then implementing similar insurance and counseling may be unnecessary. For example, Diord may already have a work-from-home option which decreases mental health impacts on work. Absenteeism may have different a different definition if employees are in sales and traveling for work, thus with more flexibility to seek counseling outside the office. Such factors need to be investigated before Diord adopt’s Tobor’s approach.

Lastly, although employees are present in the office more than the year prior, it is presumptuous that this equates to increased productivity. If the company is in sales, perhaps sales’ figures are a more appropriate point of comparison. If Tobor Tech is performing equipment repair, how many devices are repaired per month? Such considerations should be taken in line with actual staff attendance.

Diord Corp Human Resources has begun their investigation into possible methods for improving employee attendance and productivity. However, a more substantial dossier is needed before the company should take any action. It may not be possible to generalize Tobor’s results to Diord. Ultimately, correlation may not be causation for all implementing insurance modifications and counseling support.