Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from

Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new,

Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to

boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to

explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if

the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Company X claims that switching to a 4-day workweek will help the company to increase both profits

and employee morale. While it is possible that the plan will work as stated, the company’s argument

depends upon several assumptions that may or may not be valid. It is possible that a 4-day workweek will

have no effect on profits; however, under certain circumstances, a 4-day workweek could actually decrease

profits. Further, while some employees will no doubt be thrilled to have a 3-day week-end every week,

others may not appreciate a 10-hour work day.

The company assumes that commute time is a significant “point of pain” for most of its employees,

and that those employees would be happy to work 10 hours rather than 8 in order to avoid one day of

commute time. The company fails to address, however, how a 10-hour workday might alter the schedules

and lives of the employees outside of work. Let’s assume that employees work a standard 8am to 5pm

schedule. Now, employees will have to start earlier or work later (or both). Those with partners and / or

children may find that this new schedule disrupts the family dinner or the before-school morning routine.

Those who participate in regularly scheduled activities — an exercise routine, a sports match, a book club

— may find their personal and social activities curtailed. If so, the new plan is not likely to improve

employee morale.

The company believes that profits will increase because the company will reduce expenses

associated with keeping the office open on Fridays. The company assumes, then, that it will make the same

amount of revenue in 4 days that it typically makes in 5. Perhaps the nature of the company’s business

allows this but it would be wise to validate this assumption before proceeding. For instance, the business

model might require salespeople to call on customers. What hours do those customers work? If it is very

difficult to call on customers before 8am or after 5pm, then extending the hours for salespeople whilecutting off one workday a week could actually result in decreased revenues. Alternatively, employees may

be more mentally fatigued by the end of a 10-hour day and lose productivity; it’s entirely possible that four

10-hour days will produce less work than five 8-hour days, though both add up to 40 hours.

This brings us to our final assumption: the company appears to believe that there are no negative

consequences relative to shutting down completely on Fridays. Does the company ever field customer

inquiries or have to provide support for its products and services? If so, customers will be unhappy if they

cannot reach the company on Fridays. Does the company receive deliveries of any kind or have to interact

with vendors or suppliers in any way? In such a case, Friday closures could impact the company’s

efficiency, which could in turn impact revenues, expenses, or morale.

Company X has developed an interesting idea that may be worth further exploration, but committing

to such a plan immediately would be rash. There are a number of variables that need to be examined before

concluding that the plan is likely to achieve the stated goals without resulting in (possibly quite negative)

unintended consequences. It would be prudent for the company to determine, via direct dialogue with

workers, what measures in general are likely to improve employee morale. Further, the company must

carefully examine the possible financial consequences associated with spreading 40 hours of work over 4

days rather than 5 and with closing its offices entirely on a day when businesses are typically expected to

be open.