In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The author of the argues that the use of the Mason River for water sports will increase if the state cleans it up and devotes more budget to riverside recreational facilities. He supports this argument by claiming that the residents listed water sports as their favourite recreational activities and they are discouraged by the uncleanliness of the river. It is clear that this argument contains a lot of unwarranted assumptions that deem it weak.

Firstly, the author assumes that by cleaning up the river, the use of the river for recreational activities will indeed increase. He supported his claim by the fact that a survey has been done and most residents agreed that water sports are their favorite activities. What was not considered is the locations where the residents that have been surveyed are living. Obviously, people living riverside would prefer recreational activities by the river, because it is more efficient than seeking recreational activities elsewhere. On the other hand, residents living further away from the river might not have the same in mind, since it can be a hassle to drive all the way to the river to have some joyful time. Therefore, if the survey was mainly focused on residents living by the river, it would completely soften the grounds on which the author's conclusion is based on.

Secondly, it is assumed that the river is not used for recreational activities by the residents due to its unpleasant smell and general uncleanliness. It has not been considered that there might be other valid reasons for this situation, for instance, the river might be hard to access by car or the road leading to it might not be well constructed for casual use by the residents. It totally makes sense for the residents to not to use the river as often if it is hard to reach and causes much hassle. Also, the environment around the river might not be welcoming or dangerous, for instance, the area around the river might be a forest that is inhabited by grizzly bears, which are known to be very violent and deadly. Therefore, the residents would not risk their lives to do some water sports considering the nature of the area. Consequently, the cleaning up of the river might not factually increase its use for recreational activities, since the surrounding environment and access to it will be a huge discouragement for the residents.

Finally, it is clear that this argument has plenty of unwarranted assumptions that will significantly weaken it. The author depends greatly on these assumptions and although providing more budget for cleaning up the river might be a great idea, it does not necessarily mean that it definitely increases the river's use for water sports. Therefore must bring forward more convincing and realistic evidence to support his argument.