A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid s
are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not rec
payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressu
work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impai
judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupation
as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.
Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to deter
whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to t
questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis
The author provides two pieces of evidence in support of the researchers’ contention that workers
without paid sick leave are more likely to work when ill, and that such workers are more likely to
experience a job-related accident as a result. The results of the study cannot be disputed — we must accept
as true, for example, that those with paid sick leave are significantly less likely to have work-related
accidents than those without paid sick leave. We might, however, question whether the study was large
enough, or representative enough, to draw broad conclusions. Further, the study does not demonstrate
causation: it does not tie the incidence of work-related accidents to illness. While the researchers’
hypothesis is certainly one possibility, more research is needed to eliminate other possibilities and to
bolster the strength of this argument.
The largest leap in the argument is the assumption that those without paid sick leave feel pressured to
work when ill. No evidence is presented to establish this supposition. In order to strengthen this part of the
argument, the researchers might ask study participants whether they have actually come to work ill during
the same timeframe covered by the original study and, if so, why they chose to come to work when ill. If
the study participants who did experience a work-related accident were also more likely to come to work
ill for fear of lack of pay, then the hypothesis would be much more strongly supported, particularly if this
occurred with a correspondingly large proportion of workers (to match the 28% greater incidence of
accidents in the original study).
The researchers would also strengthen their case by addressing alternate explanations for the data in
the original study. For instance, are there differences between the two groups based upon industry or job
performed that might explain the data? For example, are hourly workers more likely to lack paid sick leave,
while salaried workers are more likely to receive it? Are hourly workers more likely to work in blue-collar
or more manual occupations, where on-the-job accidents are more frequent? If so, then we would expect a
correlation between unpaid sick leave and a higher incidence of workplace accidents because the work
itself is inherently more dangerous, not because people are choosing to work when ill. Further, if it is the
case that higher-risk occupations in general are more likely to lack paid leave, then the second piece of
evidence also loses its significance. In such a case, the researchers’ hypothesis would be significantly
weakened.
The data presented also lacks a depth of detail that would help us to evaluate the significance of the
study results. How many people were surveyed? What is the margin of error and how was the study
conducted? Is the 28% figure statistically significant? If the study represented a large enough survey group
to extrapolate to the general population, across regions, industries, and job responsibilities, then the study
results may be conveying something significant. If, alternatively, few people were surveyed or the
incidence of job-related accidents were very low, then perhaps the 28% difference represented a small
number of people, well within the statistical variance expected.
While the argument presents an interesting hypothesis, the data presented is not strong enough to
establish the validity of the conclusion to even a small degree. First, at a basic level, we need to know
whether the existing data is statistically significant and sufficiently representative. There are also several
gaps in the logic chain, assertions made without supporting evidence. Finally, the researchers could
strengthen their case by examining, and dismissing, alternate explanations for the data presented thus far.
These steps might not be enough to establish the validity of the hypothesis beyond a doubt, but they would
allow the researchers to determine whether the pursuit of the hypothesis is a good use of time, funds, and
attention.