Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and

environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they

operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your

reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the

views presented

All around the world, the governments usually require corporations to, in one way or another, participate in balancing the economy, labor market and the well-being of the societies they are incorporated in. The statement mentions two claims which oppose eachother, one that supports the promotion of the societies' well-being by corporations and one that supports corporations should be operated solely as money-making outlets. I definitely agree with the first statement, as it represents my position.

Corporations should, usually are, legally required to improve the situation in the societies they operate in. In many countries, they are strict regulations that state a certain percentage of the employees in that corporation to be of the town's residents. This allows the job market to flourish in that specific society, and provides more job opportunities for the residents, which postively enhances the economical aspect of the society. Additionally, regulations regarding the preservement of the environment surrounding the corporation's will force them to consider the well-being of the nature, and obscuring any activities that might cause serious harm to the environment and it's inhabitants. If corporations were given the responsibility of only making money, without clear rules of how their activities should include the society, that might backfire in the form of rejection by the residents or citizens of the city or town.

Corporartions are already factories for money-hungry business people who have no objective but to make more money, and use every resource they have to reach that objective. Supporting this behavior - in which corporations are inconsiderate towards the societies they operate in - will lead to the complete neglegence of the needs or complaints of the people of the society, for example, if any of the activities carried by a specific corporation is an inconvenience or harmful, in some way, for the local society, not much attention will be given to resolve the issue, since no rules or regulations force these corporations to communicate with the people. So, allowing corporations to act as money-making factories only, indeed benefits the government or share holders, but gives absolutely to benefit to the society.

In summary, I think that corporations should always be improving their efforts in including the society in their operations, on order to form a good bond with the people, as well as allow the economic flourishing of the town or city in which they are operating.