The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

The author of the above letter is the owner of Sunnyside tower apartment. He explains why they change all the shower head in their first three buildings. His main purpose is to cut payment for water monthly. Through restricting usage water, Sunnyside corporation expects considerable savings. From the owner perspective, this measure is successful because only a few complaints about this policy existed and cutting payment would ultimately increase Sunnyside towers profits. However, the manager’s argument in the letter is unsubstantiated with false assumptions.

First and foremost, the author has an assumption without empirical data. For example, as above the manager mentioned, actual data of water usage before and after the adjustment is not available. However, the manager suggested prospect that this adjustment would make a profit for the corporation without any empirical data. Therefore, the writer should present persuasive figures for argument.

Secondly, the author provides readers with an unpersuasive argument about increasing profit. He might think that restricting water flow would lead to decrease the usage of water efficiently. however, there is no evidence restricting water flow guarantees cutting water usage. On the contrary, some people would use more water than usual because lower water pressure precludes efficient usage of water. Hence, the manager should present persuasive evidence that restricting water flow is useful for generating a profit.

Additionally, the mention that there are a few complaints among residents about restricting water flow is not guaranteed. It is very strange that only a few inhabitants complain about reduced water usage. As we all know, water is an essential resource for a human being. If the usage of water were restricted, anyone easily felt inconvenience for this change. Furthermore, there is no detailed statistics of residents. Therefore, the above-suggested evidence that a few complaints about their measurement are very doubtful. Consequently, the author must give readers with reliable statistics about the response of residents.

In conclusion, the owner of the sunnyside tower apartment Complex suggests an unpersuasive argument with unsubstantiated assumptions. therefore, new reliable evidence is required to prove his argument.