The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the
recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and
supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the
recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples
shape your position.
The recommendation presents a view that I would agree is successful most of the
time, but one that I cannot fully support due to the “all or nothing” impression it gives.
Certainly as an educator I agree fully that the best way to elicit positive response
from students is to make use of students’ positive energy and then encourage actions
that you would like to see repeated. It is human nature that we all want to be accepted
and achieve on some level, and when people in authority provide feedback that we
have done something well, the drive to repeat the action that was praised is bound to
be particularly strong.
This blanket statement would obviously pay dividends in situations in which a
teacher desires to have students repeat particular behaviors. For example, if an
educator is attempting to teach students proper classroom etiquette, it would be
appropriate to openly praise a student who raises his or her hand when wishing to
speak or address the class. In such cases, the teacher may also help shape positive
behaviors by ignoring a student who is trying to interject without approval from the
teacher. In fact, the decision to ignore students who are exhibiting inappropriate
behaviors of this type could work very well in this situation, as the stakes are not very
high and the intended outcome can likely be achieved by such a method. However, it
is important to note here that this tactic would only be effective in such a “low-stakes”
situation, as when a student speaks without raising her hand first. As we will discuss
below, ignoring a student who hits another student, or engages in more serious
misbehaviors, would not be effective or prudent.
To expand on this point, it is important for teachers to be careful when working with
the second half of this statement, only ignoring negative actions that are not serious.
Take for instance a student who is misbehaving just by chatting with a fellow class -
mate. This student might not be presenting much of a problem and may be simply
seeking attention. Ignoring the student might, in fact, be the best solution. Now
assume the negative action is the improper administering of chemicals in a science
experiment or the bullying of a fellow student. To ignore these negative actions would
be absurd and negligent. Now you are allowing a problem to persist, one that could
potentially lead to much bigger and more dangerous issues. In a more serious
situation, addressing the negative actions quickly and properly could stop the problem
it in its tracks. It is for reasons like this that I do not advocate the idea that a teacher can
be successful by simply ignoring negative actions.
I do, however, greatly support the idea that the central focus of teaching should be
to build on and encourage positive actions. However, the author’s all-encompasing
statement leaves too many negative possibilities for the classroom. Perhaps a better
way to phrase this statement would be to say, “The best way to teach is to praise
positive actions and ignore negative ones that are not debilitating to class efficiency
or the safety of any individual”.
Thus, in the original statement, there are indeed some good intentions, and there
could be a lot of merit in adopting its basic principles. Data proves that positive support
can substantially increase motivation and desire in students and contribute to positive
achievements. In fact, most studies of teaching efficacy indicate that praising positive
actions and ignoring negative ones can create a more stable and efficient classroom.
It needs to be stressed, however, that this tool is only effective at certain levels of
misbehavior. As mentioned above, when the behavior is precipitated by feelings of
revenge, power or total self-worthlessness, this methodology will likely not work. It is
likely to be very successful, however, when the drive behind the misbehavior is simple
attention seeking. In many of these instances, if the teacher demonstrates clearly that
inappropriate behavior does not result in the gaining of attention, students are more
likely to seek attention by behaving properly. Should the student choose this path, then
the ignoring has worked and when the positive behavior is exhibited, then the teacher
can utilize the first part of the theory and support or praise this behavior. Now it is
much more likely to be repeated. If the student does not choose this path and instead
elects to raise the actions to a higher level that presents a more serious issue, then
ignorance alone cannot work and other methods must be employed.