Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-

being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A question is usually raised in public discussion: should corporations be oriented only to increasing profits or should they be commited to the wellness of the society in which they operate? In what follows, I will defend the position according to which corporations are responsible for a good development of society.

First of all, making profits as much as possible without worrying about the conditions of society seems to be ethically wrong to most of us. Indeed, the consequence is an unequal distribution of richness and power. That is to say, the owner of a successful activity is far more powerful of a common citizens; if he does nothing to diminish this discrepancy, the social systems in which his corporation operate can hard be defined as democracy.

Not only is the no-responsibility position immoral, it can imply negative consequences. For example, suppose that a certain factory only tries to achieve his goal of increasing his profit indefinetely. Moreover imagine that the state in which it is located have not formulated particular envornomental rules yet. Of course, even if the factory roaised level of pollution, its actions would be legal. Yet, most of us think that such a factory should not have increased the amount of pollution.

Of course, there are some objections that some people may move against the position I am supporting. For example, it could be objected that corporations can augment the wellness of society just by increasing their profit. Indeed, the higher their profit, the more healthy the economy. However, this seems to be a gross idea. The discrepancy between rich people and poor people,and the risk of a non-democratic system cannot be prevented, as well as the possibility of environmental problems. Yet, some people may insist by arguing that requiring that a corporation has the responsibility for the wellness of society is too much. After all, people are not commited to this ethical duty; why should corporation be? However, first it is not completely true that people do not have such a duty: you must not damage the envoronment in which other peole live. Second, the analogy between people and corporations is suspect. The impact that a corporation can have on a society is greater; the greater the power the more the responsibility.

In conclusion, corporation should be responsible for the wellness of the society in which they operate. Arguing the contrary faces both ethical problems and negative consequences.