The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the author’s thesis, the interview-centered method used by his teams is better than the observation-centered method employed by Dr. Field. Before concluding that this idea is convincing, it is necessary to explore the reasoning on which it is based.

First, the author mentions the fact that his team interviewed people from islands including Tertia and that such interviews revealed that children were rearing by their biological parents, contrary to what Dr. Field argues about Tertia’s children. However, the author bolstered his reasoning if he would provide more information about the sample. How many children from Tertia were interviewed? Imagine that they were far fewer than the children from other islands. Also suppose that they were reared by the community as Dr. Field suggested. Perhaps, the author’s team made an incorrect generalization: they may incorrectly ascribe the way of rearing adopted in islands different from Tertia to Tertia.

For the sake of argument suppose that the sample interviewed was representative enough. In order to enhance his argument, the author has to demonstrate that Tertia’s way of rearing has not changed since Dr. Field conducted his study twenty years ago. If this was the case, indeed, the observation-centered methodology employed by Dr. Field was not incorrect. The fact that his results clash against the results obtained by the interview-centered method can be ascribe to a temporal difference: Dr. Field’s results were true for Tertia’s culture twenty years ago and author’s results are true for the current Tertia.

The author has the burden to prove that the interview-centered method is reliable. For example, he has to exclude that the interviews were not conducted with people who did not lie. What if they did not tell the truth that they were reared by the community? From the the text, it is not clear what Dr. Field’s method involves exactly, but if the author’s does not exclude this case, we will be justified to conclude that Dr. Field’s method is better.

Moreover, in order to conclude that Dr. Field’s method is worse than his method, the author should take into account other cases in which Dr. Field’s method fails. Admitted that Dr. Field’s study leads to wrong results about Tertia’s culture, what if Dr. Field was not not very competent? His method was great, but since he was not a great scientist, he could not describe Tertia’s culture properly.

In conclusion, the author’s conclusion needs to be substantiated by more information. First, the author should offer more data about the representativeness of the sample. Second, it would be wiser if he demonstrated that people engaged in his interviews did not lie. Third, he has to exclude that Tertia’s way of rearing children has not changed since Dr. Field’s study. Finally, he had better consider other cases in which, by employing a similar method to Dr. Field’s, the results are not satisfying.