"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the letter concludes that a policy based on education about bicycle safety is more effective than a policy requiring helmet while riding a bike. In order to support this thesis, he offers a number of reasons needing to be explored.

First, the author mentions two studies. According to the first, the number of people wearing a helmet has increased: ten years ago, 35 percent of bicyclists wear helmets, while at present, 80 percent do so. The second provides information about the increase of accidents. The implicit assumption is that these two studies are reliable. However, this is questionable. For example, how has the study about the increase in the number of accidents been held? Has it relied on reports of people who have a bike accident? If this was the case, the study would not be reliable: many people may have falsely reported an accident; others may have not declared an accident they had had.

The author also assumes that the number of cyclists has been steady for ten years. In fact, only in this way he can argue that the number of people wearing helmets has risen. Suppose that ten years ago there was 100 bicyclists, the same current number of bicyclists. This means that ten years ago there were 35 bicyclists wearing helmets, while nowadays there are 80. However, this assumption can be rejected: it is possible that the number of bicyclists wearing helmets is far lower. If there was 40 bicyclists now, there would be 32 bicyclists wearing helmets, 3 fewer than ten years ago.

There is also an issue that is worth discussing. The author implicitly assumes that a safe course given to all cyclists would be more effective than having helmets, which, according to him, cause more accidents. However, this may not be true. Perhaps, people who would attend this course would not be motivated – studying for riding a bike? In addition, what about cyclists who would not pay attention to obstacles even if they had attended this course? Maybe if they wore a helmet, accidents would be prevented.

The argument here analyzed hides positive aim – reducing the number of bike accidents. However, the way in which is formulated needs to be improved. First, the author should rely on more trustworthy studies. Second, the author should take into account real figures, not percentages. Third, he should consider disadvantages of implementing the policy he recommends.