The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to the author, modern life does not allow people to become independent and strong. More precisely, the author mentions “luxuries and conveniences” as the main responsible for not developing a strong and independent personality. However, it is hard to understand what this expression means unless we consider particular examples. In what follows I will reject the author position by taking into account different cases.

First, social life has been strongly changed in last years at least in the West. There are two main aspects that strike. First, society is more complex: every single person somehow depends on other one. For example, most of us are not able to fix a problem of a pipe of the bathroom and, therefore, it is necessary to call a plumber; the majority of people is not able to make the food they eat and, as a result, they go to the market. Second, our social life features an intensive use of technological devices. For instance, smartphones and computer enables us to constantly communicate to each other through social media; in order to arrive at an unknown place, we exploit the navigator of cars.

Even though these examples seem to prove that modern life avoids people from being independent, it is important to consider the other side of the coin. It is true that, by being dependent on other people or technological devices, we are apparently less indipendent. Yet, such a dependence permits us to have more free time. If we call a plumber, we do not deal with pipes; if we do not deal with pipes, we can spend our time in a different way – in the way in which we think is the best. Therefore, it seems that people were less independent in the past than we are at present time: the impossibility of delegating someone was detrimental to free time and independence.

But there are other facts that seem to prove that we are more independent. For example, the level of education is higher than it used to be. This means that more people are less inclined not to develop their own opinion. Moreover, democracy is the more popular system for organizing society and democracy is the system in which the greatest number of people are freer.

In conclusion, the author’s position is questionable. Even though we rely on technology and other people, this permits us to have more free time and to be more independent. The popularity of democracy and an higher level of education confirm this expansion of our independence.